Memorable Winners of the Arkansas Derby

The last Kentucky Derby prep race of the season, the Arkansas Derby, goes off at Oaklawn on Saturday. Over the years, this race has produced a number of Kentucky Derby winners including Team Old Smoke favorites Smarty Jones (2004) and Afleet Alex (2005) in back-to-back years, not to mention American Pharoah, who went on to become the 12th Triple Crown Winner!

We encourage you to check out this great article by John Piassek of America's Best Racing, which looks back at some of the most memorable winners of the Arkansas Derby.